Flower Girl Butterflies by Elizabeth F. Howard


Flower Girl Butterflies (1998), written by Elizabeth Fitzgerald Howard & illustrated by Christiane Krömer just happens to be one of the cutest books ever. I really love the illustrations. I reviewed this book for my childrens’ literature class. We had to read & review 25 current children’s books & make a page. Well, I made a beautiful page for this one. It was actually one of the best I made. Here are a couple of pics. I’m not sure if you can see it or not, but it has a 3-D effect. Anyway, on to the review.

The title character, Sarah, is going to be in her Aunt Robin’s & her new Uncle Jeff’s wedding. She’s going to be the flower girl. She is so nervous. Everybody will be watching her & she doesn’t want to mess up. One thing she is excited about is going shopping with Aunt Robin to find her pretty flower girl dress.

She tries on five dresses. She likes the fifth one.

“What do you think Sarah?” Aunt Robin asked me.

“Which one do you like?” I asked Aunt Robin.

“The one you have on now,” she said, giving me a hug.

“Ooooh, Aunt Robin,” I said. I just knew my aunt and I would choose the same dress. I love my beautiful dress so much! But I’m still scared about being a flower girl.

Suddenly Sarah begins thinking about everything that could possibly go wrong:

Suppose I drop my basket? Suppose I trip and fall down? What if she gets a sore throat? The measles? Chickenpox?

She doesn’t have much time to worry as the wedding nears & family members arrive. Spending time with her family makes her forget how scared she is. Well…almost! She’s still a little nervous. I don’t think she’s really going to get measles or chicken pox, but does anything happens to prevent her from being a flower girl? I guess you’re going to have read it to find out. Trust me, you will not be disappointed. I think this would be a good book to give to a little girl who will soon be a flower girl.

Check it out.

Leave a Reply

