I Accept My Fate!


Quantum Leap, starring Scott Bakula (B.K.A. Captain Archer from Star Trek Enterprise), ran from 1989-1994. This, along with Sliders & Babylon 5 are my favoritest Sci-fi shows ever. Why? It’s because I love the time travel element of this show. However, surprisingly I’m not going to talk about time travel today. For this post I want to focus on the last episode which dealt with .

The show revolves around Dr. Samuel Beckett, a quantum physicist who wants to experience time travel in his own lifetime. Well, he gets his wish as he “leaps” around in time into other people’s bodies correcting history’s mistakes. When he looks in the mirror he sees the face of the person whose body he is inhabiting, while the person inhabits his body in the “waiting room” in the future. So, needless to say, he leaped around for 5 years. During that time he did not see his reflection. That is, until the final episode. He leaps into himself @ some unknown location & finally sees his reflection. He can’t believe it. He’s aged. He’s graying. But, that is not the most important part. The most important part is that he sees his reflection.

Sam believes there’s a higher power “leaping” him around. The person he encounters, Al, tells him there is no higher power leaping him around; that he’s leaping himself around. Al tells Sam that if he could just accept that he’s the one leaping himself around, he could return home. Sam cannot. That would mean, to him, that there is no higher power. Sam does not accept it, so he does not return home. Al also tells him that the leaps are going to get harder. Sam cries, but accepts his fate.

That, my dear reader, is me. Today, I simply closed my eyes & accepted my fate. This is the second time I’m coming into a situation where I have to clean up someone else’s mess. The teacher I’m replacing was on her way out because, well, basically she was lazy & not doing her job. It is my belief that I am going to spend the next couple of years cleaning up & fixing the messes of other teachers. I am not purposely “leaping” myself into these situations. I keep finding myself in situations where I have to keep starting over. I’m tired. I want some type of stability, but fear that will not happen.

I’m tired, but I have closed my eyes & accepted my fate!

Leave a Reply

