Books We Read This Week!


The first day of school I read I Like Myself by Karen Beaumont. They liked it. On the second day I read the tried & true, Thank You Mr. Falker by Patricia Polacco. I tried to read it the first day but ran out of time. We made up for that today as we read Things That Are Most in the World by Judi Barrett, The Greedy Apostrophe by Jan Carr & Punctuation Takes a Vacation by Robin Pulver.

The Greedy Apostrophe & Punctuation Takes a Vacation were part of the lesson. Things That Are Most in the World was a bonus. They wanted me to read it since I pumped it up on the first day. It’s a fun book to read when teaching superlative & comparative adjectives. In the back of the book is a page to photocopy. This is what it looks like:

The _______________est thing in the world is ________________________!

I didn’t photocopy it, so the students verbally told me what the ______est thing in the world was. They had a lot of fun doing it. They had even more fun completing the worksheet from Punctuation Takes a Vacation. They really loved the Punctuation Game we played with The Greedy Apostrophe.

I had a really great first week! Here’s to many more!

Leave a Reply

