Not Sour Grapes At All. Really, It’s Not!#$%?

What I am about to say will sound like I’ve been eating terribly sour grapes, but I have not. Honestly I haven’t! There’s nothing but big, juicy grapes in my classroom! I can tell you don’t believe me, so let me just start by asking a question-Does Open House tell the true story? What do you think? I think not!

I say that because today is Open House for my school and I look like a total slacker. The Middle School teachers look like stars because their hallways are filled with projects. It looks FAN-freakin-tastic! This is the part where I know it will sound like sour grapes. But, it would only be sour grapes if I thought their hallways looked terrible, when I know they looked good. I didn’t begrudge them that. I was simply disappointed in myself because my hallways… well, they’re empty. I wanted to display my only projects- my 5th grade student’s mission projects- on a table, but I didn’t request a table in a timely manner. So, needless to say, they are all gone.

You see, I have never been the type of teacher (or person, for that matter) to do something just for show. I liked to let my work speak for me, but it looks like I need to draw people in to know that my work is good. I can see that I will have to learn to play the game. And FAST!

I not only look like a slacker, but I feel like a total slacker. If someone were to judge me by this Open House, I would not be getting any new students. I tell you what, for the next Open House, I will have my students put out so many projects that I will look like the SUPER STAR!!!

My story’s over. You can go home now. There’s no more grapes available; nothing left for you to see. Now that I’ve explained things, you should see that I didn’t eat any sour grapes at all. REALLY! I didn’t!!! ; D

HERE’S TO 2011!

A Long Day!

This day is going to be long because today is the day we have Open House at my school. It will not even start until 6 p.m. today and will end @ 7:30. Yay, lucky me! I get to stay at work for 12 hours.

I really wish Open House would be right after school. I really don’t like having to stay for that long, but I guess my room will be extra clean. I’ll write again when I get home in about 5 hours.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers