I Wear No Make-up!


Yes, I am still harping on the Open House Debacle of 2011, as it shall forever be known. Ok, this is what I didn’t say in the last two posts (here and here) where I harped on said Debacle of 2011. Let me tell you a little bit about me. I don’t wear make-up. I can remember making a conscious decision when I was about 9 or 10 years old that I didn’t want to wear make-up. Even back then I thought that make-up was a mask; that it didn’t show the real person. I thought of it as putting on a show.

“Why would I want to wear make-up,” I thought. I have always wanted people to see me as I am. So, I have never been one to put on a “mask”, or be fake. I’ve always adopted a “take me as I am” attitude. That’s why I don’t like it when someone cleans up their house only for company. (Are you not worthy of a clean house all the time?) Similarly there are teachers who only put up projects and papers for Open House or some other event to look like a star. I find that utterly reprehensible. But, seriously, who am I to judge, right?

There was a time (a loooong time ago before I started school and working) when my house was clean. Anyone could drop by at anytime & it was clean. Well, it is the same way with my classroom now. Anyone can drop by at any time and it’s always clean. I always have current student work up and graded with comments. My students are always engaged (although sometimes in other things as children are wont to do), but that does not seem to be enough. I learned that last night. Last night I learned that I need to showcase my students work so they can feel good about their work and I can showcase my teaching strategies. When you think about it, there’s nothing wrong with that. Although I have never been one to try to put on a show, I have come to the realization that the show is not for me. It was never really about me. Gosh, how wrapped up in self can I be?

So, although I absolutely refuse to put on a mask by wearing make-up, I will put on a show. For the children.

HERE’S TO 2011!

Leave a Reply

