Still Surprising Myself!

I just read an interesting article about Special Education teachers who transition to General Education. The article said something that surprised me. It talked about how Special Education teachers who transition to General Education have the neatest & most organized classrooms with the most explicit rules. I thought it was odd that that applied to me. So I called my husband & shared it with him. I was surprised when he told me that my classroom has always been neat & clean. I thought about it & sure enough my classroom has always been neat, clean, & organized. Who knew???

They Are Such Sponges!

Yes, you read it right. My students are such sponges, but not in a bad way. Yes, they talk WAY too much, but they are constantly surprising me. In a good way, that is! The “thing” they surprised me with is their capacity for absorbing information. They have been soaking up information like nobody’s business. They sop the information up just like sponges. I am so happy that they’re able to absorb the information because I realized I was running behind. You see, working for a Catholic school is SO different. One thing I’ve discovered is that Catholic schools do not have a pacing plan like a Unified School District; at least mines doesn’t. Since I don’t have a pacing plan, I have had to put myself on one because I was taking my own sweet time to make sure the students were mastering the material. Along the slow road of my own little pacing plan, I realized that my students were indeed mastering the material and that I could move them much faster than I was moving them. So, I completed new lesson plans and scheduled them to move at twice the speed I was moving them. I am happy to report that they are responding very well. One of my students who was performing pretty badly is actually performing better. I wish I would have done this sooner. But I’m quite proud of myself because when I was hired, I didn’t know the Houghton Mifflin Social Studies program. Truth be told, I was a little scared about learning. Really, I was a LOT scared. I didn’t think I could do it. But that’s usually when I do my best work. This time was no exception. I have surprised myself in such good ways. I am so psyched about this. I am really looking forward to many more surprises from my students and myself.

HERE’S TO 2011!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers