I Hate to Stop You From Reading, But…


That’s what I had to tell one of my students. I REALLY hated to stop him, but he was not finished with his classwork. My students know there is a  MUST DO/MAY DO system in my class. At the top of the MUST DO (Chores) system, what the students need to complete, is:

  • Finish incomplete work
  • Writing journal
  • Math line graph
  • Problem of the Day

After that, the students have choices for their MAY DOs (Free time). They are:

  • Reading
  • Art journal
  • Various Bingo games

There is never a time where the students has nothing to do. My favorite saying in the class is “Doing absolutely nothing is absolutely not an option.”

I really hated him to stop him from reading, but…

Leave a Reply

