“That’s Fine,” She Said.


Okay, I think I was a victim of a misunderstanding. I say I think because I’m not sure. The conversation had two possible meanings. Apparently the one I understood was the incorrect one. Here’s what happened. My school won the Clippers FIT challenge in our area so the FIT team was there working with the kids. The teachers had nothing to do but stand around in the hot sun. Suddenly, I spotted a bench in the shade, so I went over to sit down. That’s when the art teacher comes over.

“You wanna’ sit down?,” I asked.

“That’s fine,” she said, with a wave of her hand. I took this to mean that she was okay standing & didn’t want to sit. So, I didn’t scoot over. Well, about 30 seconds later she kinda’ huffs off and sits down further over.

I was a bit confused over her huffing. I thought she didn’t want to sit down. I totally didn’t understand that. What would you have thought?

5 thoughts on ““That’s Fine,” She Said.

  1. darci says:

    I kind of had something like that happen but I was on the other side. I swatted at a fly in front of my nose as a teacher came out of a stall in the bathroom. She looked at me like I thought she had done something. well…..it was awkward to say the least.
    In your situation, I would have thought the same thing though….unless she was swatting at a fly LOL!

  2. Thanks to everyone for replying. It’s good to see how others see things. I look back on it and realized I should have moved over, but just didn’t know what to do. Next time I will definitely err on the side of caution. Again, thanks for your replies.

    Leila

Leave a Reply

