Watching Bugs Bunny with New Eyes!


Thursday, during computer lab time, I extended our Social Studies lesson and whetted my student’s appetite to learn more about the Civil War, the Mason-Dixon Line, & Yankees. Before we went to the computer lab, I told the 5th grade students that I would show them some Bugs Bunny cartoons.

“Why, Miss”, my students asked. “Why are you going to show us Bugs Bunny?”

“Well,” I said, “there’s a wealth of information in Bugs Bunny and other cartoons. The only problem is that you may not know what to look for. That’s why I will show you what to look for.”

After watching, they couldn’t believe the information contained in the cartoon. They were actually super excited to watch other cartoons and see what else they could find.

For the 4th graders, since we’re studying The Gold Rush, I went to Youtube and played a little bit of  Bugs Bunny singing “Oh My Darling, Clementine”. The students couldn’t believe it was about the ’49ers. They are not going to look at cartoons the same way.

So, teachers, if you are teaching about The Gold Rush, Hitler, the Civil War, or some other deep subject, lighten it by turning to cartoons like Bugs Bunny. Your students will like it since it’s a bit of a break from the norm. How many times does a child get to watch cartoons in class? This is a form of edutaintment. The students are learning and being entertained at the same time. Believe me, your students will watch Bugs Bunny with new eyes!

One thought on “Watching Bugs Bunny with New Eyes!

Leave a Reply

