4th & 5th Grade Summer Reading

I need to choose two books for my students to read over the summer. I was thinking about choosing one classic (One that has endured for 20+years) and one fairly recent one (the last 5-15 years). For the 4th graders, I am deciding between:

  • Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  • Loser by Jerry Spinelli
  • The Watsons Go to Birmingham: 1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis
  • Island of the Blue Dolphin by Scott O’Dell

For the 5th graders, I am deciding between:

  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
  • Maniac McGee by Jerry Spinelli
  • Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank
  • The Great Gilly Hopkins by Katherine Paterson
  • The View From Saturday by E.L. Konisburg
  • Touching Spirit Bear by Ben Michaelsen
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers