San Juan Capistrano Came Alive!


It’s Alive! I wanted to say to my students as we walked into the San Juan Capistrano mission today. My students could not contain themselves as they excitedly looked around. For those of you who’ve never been to San Juan Capistrano, I have to tell you that it’s breathtaking. So much so that it almost made me cry. I felt like I’d stepped back in time as I imagined what it felt like to live there more than two hundred years ago. How hard life was for the People (Indians). I felt a real connection to the place. I loved it and want to visit it again with Phillise in the summer. So, let’s get back to my students.

“Wow, Miss,” they said, “We read about this!

“Ok, then, tell me a little bit about it,” I said.

We talked about the cowhides, tallow (which is fat that’s used to make soap & candles), the buildings, the pueblos, & most importantly, El Camino Real (The Royal Road). They were a little disheartened to see El Camino Real.

“This is El Camino Real?” they asked, with a shocked look on their faces.

“Yep,” I said. They weren’t too happy with it.

I have pictures of my own, but here’s some I found on the internet. The one below is a picture of the Koi pond in the central plaza. Can I just say that I loved this koi pond? The fish were absolutely beautiful. The courtyard is so relaxing.

It was so humbling to be at this historic place. I could not help but be in awe of this mission. I went to the mission at San Gabriel and was not as awed as I was with this one. This one was absolutely breathtaking. The only thing that spoiled the image I’d created in my head was the Starbucks directly across the street. That’s progress for ya! I don’t like it, but what can ya’ do?

Leave a Reply

