Dear Abby, What Do I Do? Part 2 (Or Pencil Taped to the Floor)


Dear Reader,

I know that I shouldn’t have done it, but I did. Like to hear what I did, here it goes:

As I tend to do, I am still harping on the question that I posted earlier regarding one of my students who is so, let’s say, challenging. As I write this, I am sitting at my desk during lunch time trying to figure out how I could have had more patience with,(let’s call him) Laurence, today. Today, I am embarrassed to report, I taped his pencil to the floor after he dropped it for about the third time during a ten minute period. Once he dropped it, he starts feeling around with his foot, distracting the rest of the group, and kicking me. So, I look at him quizzically.

“Umm, what are you doing Laurence?” I asked.

“Oh, Miss, I need to get my pencil,” he said.

“Ya’ know what?, ” I said. You don’t need to get it because it’s staying down there. Not only that pencil but any pencil you drop, from now on, will also stay down there. With that said, I promptly went to my desk, got the tape and taped his pencil to the floor.

I was so frustrated at the time. Now, I feel pretty bad about it. I know hindsight is 20/20, but I’m thinking that maybe I could have ignored it. It’s just that it’s been going on since the beginning of the school year and today, I’d just had enough. Please, can somebody give me some coping strategies to deal with this kid? He’s driving me crazy!!!!

4 thoughts on “Dear Abby, What Do I Do? Part 2 (Or Pencil Taped to the Floor)

  1. Sounds like either he needs some very strong boundaries or you need a day off!
    Don’t feel bad about taping his pencil to the floor. One day he is going to tell his kids about you taping his pencil to the floor!

  2. Teachermum, I stay on him like white on rice. I do not let up on him. His last couple of teachers use to yell at him unmercifully. I don’t even yell @ him. If he does something, I take him to the side and explain what he has done wrong, what classroom rule his has broken, and we discuss the reason for his punishment.

    I DO NEED A DAY OFF! I’M THINKING ABOUT TAKING IT TOMORROW.

Leave a Reply

