Thank God for Reconciliation!


One of the benefits of working at a Catholic school is getting to talk to the students about religion or religious concepts when they have broken a school rule or life rule. Thank goodness we are currently studying the Seven Sacraments in Religion. Today, of all days, we were studying Reconciliation. Can I just say that I love working at a Catholic school? If I were in a public school, I would not have had that to fall back on. I took advantage of that fact to get Chip to take the first step in Reconciliation, which is admitting what you did. I will get straight to the point and make a long story short, Chip admitted that he took the eraser. I took his money, banned him from buying from the class store for 2 weeks, made him write a letter to his mother detailing what he did, & left him with an admonition to think of a way to earn my trust again.

Quite frankly, I don’t know what he can do, but I am willing to give it a shot, as long as he doesn’t steal anything else. Boy, teaching is sure complicated!

2 thoughts on “Thank God for Reconciliation!

Leave a Reply

