Am I Asking For Too Much???


My philosophy: I believe in educating the whole child. I want to discuss what I mean by educating the whole child. When I assume responsibility for a student, I wear many hats. I take on the role of teacher, second mother, counselor, nurse, & a whole host of other jobs. I work on their social, emotional, & physical well-being. I make sure they: bring back their homework, do their class work, understand important concepts, get along with other students, eat, work on bad habits, etc. I’m sure there’s more, but that’s all I can think of for now.

I say/write all that to say that I put in a lot of work with my students. Students don’t leave my class the same way they came. I say that with all humility. They change for the better. I’m sure there are many teachers, also, that can say the same. That is why, I know it is not unreasonable to expect my students to behave, complete class work and homework, treat others fairly & do their best.

I’m writing today because of my student who stole from another. I have been working with him since September. I feel like I failed in some way. I always feel like this when something like this happens.I just feel that all of the religious concepts he’s been taught in my class & in CCD that he would show a little remorse for what he’s done. He has shown none. I feel like the small punishment I gave him (taking all his money & not letting him buy from the classroom store) isn’t enough. I feel he’s just going to do it again.

So I ask the questions again. Am I asking for too much? Should I expect them to do their class work? Their homework? Should I expect them to be better people? Should I feel this disappointed when they don’t? Am I asking for too much???

I know only I can answer the question that I’m asking, but I’m asking anyway. Am I asking too much of my student? I’ve been asking myself that question a lot lately. Am I so overworked because I’m asking too much of my students???

My answer: No, I am not!

2 thoughts on “Am I Asking For Too Much???

  1. No – sounds like you are just a committed teacher who expects excellence from her students. If you expect less they will give less…
    So, instead of spending our time feeling good about the hundreds of kids who we are really helping, we spend our time fretting over the one child who steals. It’s the nature of who we are.
    Sounds like the problem is bigger than the classroom though. At our school we have a counsellor and a welfare committee – anyone who can help you there?

  2. Thank you so much for your support Teachermum. There is one person who can help, but the mother has not returned the paperwork.
    I do agree that if I expect less, they will give less. I cannot believe the amount of work I have gotten out of my students this year. I didn’t realize it until I got my new students. They are a little behind. Consequently, I cannot work them as hard as I work the other fourth graders. I can see their progress.

Leave a Reply

