Examination of Conscience!


This post is in response to one of my posts from a couple weeks ago regarding Reconciliation. The student in question & I had a chat right before Confession on the day before Spring Break. He said that he wasn’t going to do confession. I called him and talked to him and told him that he needed to have some type of remorse for what he did. I know it was only an eraser, but all things start small. So, I told him to examine his conscience and see if he should be sorry for what he did. He sat and thought about it for a minute, then he said, “Okay, Miss. I’m going to do it.”

So, he went to confession.

That’s not the end of the story, though. On Friday, as I was paying my students their weekly salary, he told me, “Miss, I’ve changed. Ever since I stole that eraser, I’m not the same. I’m not as selfish. I share. I don’t want to steal anymore. I almost had to look around to make sure I wasn’t on Candid Camera or something. It was just the perfect ending. I can’t even believe it happened. I couldn’t have asked for a better ending.

Thank goodness I teach Religion!

Leave a Reply

