Posted in teaching

Bubble Blowing Contest in Class Today!


Well, I had to use the bubble blowing thing in class today. One of my little girls, who I’ll call Binaca Blast, was accused of stealing a pencil from one of the other girls. So, this started a “friend tug-of-war”. If you have little girls in your class or have little girls of your own, then you know what I mean by “friend tug-of-war”. One girl tells the other girl’s friends not to play with the her (If you can understand that).

I asked all three of them if they played the “friend tug-of-war” game  and of course they all said no. It was at this point that I called them up individually and told them that I knew they did it. That’s when Binaca Blast started crying. It went on for a good 15 minutes. Once she stopped, I had the class go up to her and do a group hug to fill her bucket. (More on that in another post). After we filled her bucket, I gave her the bubbles.

“I don’t want to blow bubbles,” she said. “I want my brother!”

“Well, school is in session and you’re brother is not in this class, so that will have to wait,” I said.

“Now,” I said gently, “go ahead and blow the bubbles.”

Since there was no way for the other students not to be distracted, I stopped the class and had a bubble blowing contest. After we finished, I asked her if she wanted to keep blowing bubbles or have a seat. Which one do you think she chose? So, I let her blow bubbles for another 4 minutes, then requested her presence in the group.

After school, she came up to me and told me that she wanted to buy the bubbles in the classroom store next Friday.

“Ok,” I said, “but, you have to keep your money by following directions and no stealing. She insisted that she didn’t steal anything. So, if I see her mother in the morning, I will ask her about the pencil. Until then, bye for now.

Author:

I am a 53 year old empty nester, mother of four adult children, ages 22-34, and grandmother to two (River & Dakota) who's currently... figuring me out!

Leave a comment