Neutralizing Mom From Hell (MFH), Part 2


So, to continue this post on the MFH. This one mom, who I’ve dubbed MFH, has really been irritating me soooooooooo bad. I know she loves her daughter. That is not the problem. The problem is the way she goes about it. She is an overprotective, controlling, bulldozing, troublemaker of a person. Her daughter had only been in school one day before she started making trouble.

Her daughter returned to school, Monday, August 22, 2011. By the end of the day on Monday, she went to the principal to tell her to come upstairs and watch me to make sure I’m teaching her daughter.

On Tuesday, August 23, 2011, she came to me in the morning with some stupid complaint. It was so unimportant that I don’t even remember what it was about.

On Wednesday, August 24, 2011, she had complaints about her daughter having some types of bites. I don’t know where she got them because no one else in the classroom has them.

Sidenote: Her daughter told her that she saw fleas in the class. The MFH brought it up to me and I told her that there were no fleas in the class. It was at this point that she fussed her daughter out.

On Thursday, August 24, 2011, she came to the class complaining about the books. She claimed it was the same book from last year. I told her that the books looked alike, so maybe she was mistaken. She then told me that the teacher last year gave her daughter the wrong Religion book, and that she waited until the end of the year to tell her.

“Well, why did you wait until the end of the year,” I asked.

She didn’t have an answer for that. I was on my way to the office, so I told her I would be right back if she wanted to wait. She said that she would, so I went to the office to take care of business and sure enough, when I got back, there she was, waiting for me. Before I could even get up the steps, she started in.

“Hold on,” I said. “What happened with you and the teacher last year,  I was not a part of. It is not my business.”

She went on with a couple more complaints. I told her she was not going about her complaints in the wrong way. If she wanted to know something, all she had to do was ask me and I would tell her. I told her the door to the class was open anytime; that if she thought I was mistreating her daughter, then she should stop by anytime.

“If what your daughter is telling you is not lining up with what I am telling you, then you need to investigate. I have nothing to hide,” I said.

It really got interesting when she decided to get an ally- a parent from last year. Now, I’ve never had any problems with this parent, but  she had words with the Principal. So, MFH thought she had an ally. They came up to my classroom in the morning. That’s when I politely handed them the agenda from Back to School Night, which detailed the hours I’m available.

“The morning,” I said, “is not a good time. If you would like to speak with me, there’s a conference sign up sheet taped to the back of the door.”

After that, I politely waved them to the door.

…AND GOOD RIDDANCE!!!!

Let’s see what she comes up with next. Until then, bye for now!

Leave a Reply

