From Neutralizing to Understanding!


Dear Readers,

I’ve got a confession to make. Sometimes I fly off the handle. You see, I’ve got a little bit of a temper. I gotta’ admit that I flew off the handle with MFH. I could definitely have handled her questions (and attack) better. Even if they were thrown at me with daggers. That’s one of the reasons I found a way to neutralize her with my Conference Request form. I had to do it for my own peace of mind. I explained it to the parents at Back to School Night that stopping me in the hallways before school or after school was not ideal for me since I have a lot to do. However, this mom thought she didn’t have to follow the rules and tried to ambush me on Friday morning. That’s when I politely referred her to the conference request form. She grudgingly signed up and I ok’ed her request for after school.

So, once school was out, she was there waiting for me. I told her to wait for a couple of minutes as I took care of some personal business. Once I finished, we went up to the classroom & got started.

“How can I help you?” I asked. She then asks about the homework & tells me about her daughter and her homework packet. She was accusing me of not giving her daughter another packet. (Key word- another). I didn’t know India needed another packet. I told MFH that, if I had known, I would have given her a packet. But, India didn’t tell me. I even asked her if she had it, she told me that she did. She lied. As usual.

That’s when her mother accepted responsibility for her daughter’s lying and losing things. It was at this point that I really understood her. I still don’t trust her, but I understand her position. I actually did from the beginning, but was disgusted with her approach. Once I was able to put aside my personal feelings, I did what I usually do- I talked to her. I put aside my dislike for her character and talked to her about her child. I wish we could have done this in the beginning. But, I am learning. I know I could have handled things differently. However, of course, hindsight is 20/20!

Thank you for listening, dear readers!

One thought on “From Neutralizing to Understanding!

Leave a Reply

