Coaster Did What?…


“Coaster did what?” I asked one of my students.

“Miss, he played with us!”

I opened my mouth in shock. If you know how children on the autistic spectrum are, then you know how awesome that is that Coaster played with the other kids. Last year, he sat in his special spot and watched everyone else interact. This year, although I didn’t push him to play with the other students, I did push him to eat with them and work with them, to get a sense of family & belonging.

I knew that he’d come along, as far as working. I didn’t, however, expect him to play with them. I was seriously shocked by that. Again, I ask, “How’s that for progress?”

I am so proud of myself and how I am helping my students to realize their true inner selves.

Leave a Reply

