Principal in Training?

Dear Readers,

I will be quite honest. I don’t know if I’m ready for what I’m about to do, but that’s never stopped me before. All of the major things in my life happened when I wasn’t “ready”. I wasn’t ready to become a mom @ 19. I wasn’t ready to have my second one @ 21. The point: I wasn’t ready to do many things in my life, but excelled at them anyway.

So, the “it” that I’m talking about is applying for a job as a Principal at a charter school. I don’t feel that I’m ready. So, I really won’t be that bummed if I don’t get accepted to the program this year. I’m considering this a trial run. It’s just that lately I’ve had this feeling, like fire in my bones. It’s telling me that it’s time to move on; to dream bigger; to do bigger things.

The only reason this even occurred to me was because during my first year of teaching, I was at a training and this woman called me “Ms. Principal lady”.

“I’m not a principal,” I replied.

“You can be if you want to,” she said.

God told me to tell you to go further, to dream bigger. Those weren’t her exact words, but that was the gist of it.

At that time I thought I didn’t want to, but I’ve since changed my mind. I want to! It’s time for me to step out of my comfort zone. It’s time for me to take my rightful place. I’ve found a program that mentors & trains principals for their charter schools for a whole year, and helps you secure employment afterward. So, I am going to take that plunge and do it. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

