But, You’re the Model Teacher, Miss!


I was talking to one of my students today about his school he will be attending next year. He was telling me about one of his new teachers. This is what he said:

“She’s so old and she kinda’ smells. Also, the kids told me that she’s kinda’ mean!”

“Well, you don’t know if that’s true. Did you meet her for yourself?” I asked.

“Yes, I did,” he said. “And you know what, she did kinda’ smell and she was mean!”

“Well, maybe you’ll appreciate me. Maybe I wasn’t so mean after all, huhh!”

“Miss, I never thought you were mean. I know you were helping me with my attitude and stuff. You’re like the model teacher,” he said.

A BIG GIANT TEAR ROLLED RIGHT DOWN MY CHEEK! It’s not often that you get kudos from someone when they’re young. I am really torn right now. On one hand, my 5th grade boys have given me so much grief this year. I’ve had to stay on them like white on rice. Not to mention all the petty & mean parents. It’s been a really hard school year, personally & professionally. So, after thinking about all the hardships & bulls$%^& that’s happened to me this year, I will take it as one of the biggest compliments I’ve EVER received.

Thanks J.O.! You made my year!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

