So Excited…(But Should I Be???)


Dear Readers,

I am super excited! Why? Well, I’m glad you asked. During one of my pull-out sessions, the Pre-K teacher came to me regarding one of her students who has been biting. She wanted my opinion and my help regarding the situation. I feel so honored. So, I told her that I’d finish up my session & go down to Pre-K. I spoke with the child in question as he was waking up. He was a little obstinate. But I swayed him with good, old fashioned charming. I was very proud of myself.

The teacher, Liz, showed me her form that she uses to document the behavior. It was functional. The only suggestion I had was to note the time. It could be something about the time. Maybe he’s grouchy right before lunch, right after lunch, or upon waking. I suggested that she use an ABC form, in addition to the one she’s already using.

The next step is to conduct an ABC observation on him.

A= Antecedent or what happened just before the behavior.

B- Behavior- What is the behavior. Using objective, impersonal, unemotional language, describe what the behavior look like? For example, “Johnny used a stick to hit . Do not say, “Johnny keeps picking on Daniel.”

C- Consequence- What was the consequence for the behavior? Was the child sent to time-out? Was a desired activity taken away?

As I said earlier, I’m excited about this. I can now use my knowledge to help these children. Even though I don’t have all the answers (Who does?), I am really excited about trying to find solutions to these pressing problems.

I’ll write more about this later. Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

