I Always Do This!!!


Dear Readers,

Whenever I start something new, I get temporarily overwhelmed. That’s how I’m feeling now. I’m a bit overwhelmed. Although I knew starting an Inclusion Program would be a big undertaking, I totally underestimated the amount of time it would take for me to get up and running. So, I’m overwhelmed because of: 1) the underestimation part (2) the growing number of students & (3) starting anything from scratch is quite an undertaking.

I’m making progress though. I know that I am because I said in an earlier post that I kinda’ know what I want to do with the program. Well, that’s been upgraded to I know what I want to do with the program. I now have a plan. I want to roll the program out in waves. For the first wave, my plan is to assess all of the students with IEPs to see where they stand, make a mini-IEP with PLOPs and goals. The second wave entails assessing all of the at-risk students to catch them before they fall. The third wave is weekly or monthly progress monitoring and communication with the classroom teachers. Finally, the last wave is incorporating Positive Behavior Intervention Systems (PBIS). Although there aren’t any students with behavior problems this year, there were last year.

So, I want and need to put systems into place for future reference. I’m on my way to doing that. I just need to stay confident in my abilities and stay the course.

I am really tired because on Wednesdays, I leave immediately from work and drive straight to school. With that being said, I will sign-off and talk/write more about this later.

Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

