She Came Back For the Book! (or So Worth It!)


Dear Readers,
I am so excited that one of my 2nd grade students, who I’ll call Lina, is making great progress. Although her comprehension is fine, she has a twin brother, who I’ll call Enrico, whose comprehension is lacking. I’m using sequencing to help him. With her I am using repeated readings. I let her graph her own progress and she was so excited. I asked her a question and led her to the answer.
“Lina,” I asked, “what’s the best way to increase your reading speed?
Of course the answer was to read and read, then read some more.
As an added incentive I let her borrow another one of my books, Horrid Henry. She already has one at home she hasn’t returned. Usually I have them return it before they can check out a new one. However, I didn’t want to squelch all her enthusiasm. So I just told her to return the other one tomorrow. She said she would. Hopefully she will, but if she doesn’t, it’s only one book.
She wants to earn her Pizza Hut reading certificate so I told her to come back after school to check the book out. I was going to print out a Book checkout log, but forgot. That was the reason I told her to come back after school.
So, the whole point of this post was to let you know, Dear Readers, that she didn’t forget to come back and get the book. She came back after school. This is significant because I’m on the other side of the school. That, right there, is what makes teaching worth it!

7 thoughts on “She Came Back For the Book! (or So Worth It!)

  1. maryt82 says:

    I like your comment “it’s only one book.” My books are so precious to me, but I often remind myself that I have to trust that the kids will bring them back when they ask to borrow them. Those books are only valuable when they are shared with the children — that was the purpose of getting them in the first place. And you know what? I don’t think I’ve lost one yet. The kids do bring them back in one piece, and it gives me pleasure to know that my books are giving them so much enjoyment and improving their reading skills at the same time.

  2. maryt82 says:

    Speaking of books, I started a book club for my LD/ADHD students. They can choose to come in during their recess and we just read for fun. I have multiple copies of popular children’s novels and we will take turns reading aloud — all voluntary of course. I’m calling it “Zack’s Book Club”. It’s a long story, but Zack was the inspiration for the club. I told him today that he and I are the co-founders of this club. He was so excited and shared the news with his classroom teacher right away!
    (Don’t know what your politicial affiliation is, but I am really happy that our president has been re-elected. He is so good for our country on a number of levels. I’m too wired to go to sleep tonight! Am so relieved.)

  3. Marty that sounds wonderful. I am so happy for Zack. What books are you reading. I am really happy that our president was re-elected. I was a little nervous for awhile there. So happy we will have four more years. He accomplished so much in his short time as president. Imagine what more he could have accomplished if he wouldn’t have been fought so hard.

  4. maryt82 says:

    We are currently reading one of the Stink books. Also have a Magic School Bus book about spiders that I’d like to read just before we read Charlotte’s Web together. Kids are having so much fun. Zack brought snacks in to share with everyone today. We had a group of four, plus me, today.

    Yes, Pres Obama did accomplish a lot. He’s a good man and has such a beautiful family. Hope he doesn’t meet with as much resistance from Congress this time around. Mary

Leave a Reply

