Elkonin Boxes & Its Uses! (For Mary t.)


***This post is for Mary t. (sorry about the transposed letters). I hope this answers your questions. If not, don’t hesitate to e-mail me.***

Recently I posted about Elkonin boxes and how I have been having much success with them. I also linked to some other posts of mine regarding their usage. Click here and here. Now let me further explain how I use them.

Here’s a picture of an Elkonin box with three boxes. You can print this or you can make your own. To make your own, just draw 2,3,4, or 5 boxes side by side. Either way will work.
Elkonin boxes are used to teach phonemic and phonological awareness and syllabication.
Elkonin boxes are great because the students are using multiple modalities- tactile, visual, oral, & kinesthetic.

Lesson Plan
Title: Push it Good!
Objective: The objective of this exercise is to help students distinguish the individual sounds in two and three letter words (for the younger students). The objective of this exercise is to help students who are struggling with decoding multisyllabic words (for the older students).

Materials required: Salt N’ Pepa’s Push it Good song,CD player, Elkonin boxes, block or other manipulative, pencil, eraser, whiteboard marker, whiteboard eraser or tissue, word list of two & three letter words, word list of multisyllabic words
Beginning: In order to capture the students attention, I play 15-20 seconds of Salt N’ Pepa’s Push It Real Good song. I then ask them why they think I played that song? If they can’t guess, I tell them why. I then begin the lesson by reminding students of how they used to clap the syllables out when they were in Kinder or 1st grade. I will then explain that this is the same thing with the only difference being the boxes and the tokens/blocks or whatever manipulative we’re using.
Middle: I then model for the students how to use them by using the two letter Elkonin box with two letter word such as be. I place the tokens underneath each box. I explain to the students that I am going to say the sound of the first letter and push the token into the first box as I say it.
Next, I push the second token into the second box as I say the sound. I say the word as if I’m trying to feel it out and blend the letters into the word be.
If the student doesn’t understand I complete the above with another two letter word. Once they understand the two letter word, I move on to a three letter word. Once they understand the three letter words and can understand the individual sounds and blending, I move on to syllables.
Now, instead of blending letters into words, I am breaking the word into syllables. I begin with a two syllable word, like their name if their name has two syllables. Example: I have a student who I’ll call Orchid. I ask the student to clap out the number of syllables in their name. (Since I already know that it has two syllables, I have the Elkonin box with two boxes ready with the tokens beneath the boxes.) I ask Orchid to tell me what the two syllables are. She will of course reply- Or- chid. I instruct her to put her finger or the first token and push it up as she says Or. Once that’s complete, I instruct to put her finger on the second token and push it up as she says -Chid.I and the student work out a couple of other two and three syllable words before moving on.
End: Now that the student has the concept of using the Elkonin boxes with letters and syllables, we complete the exercise with unfamiliar words.

Here’s a wikipedia link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elkonin_boxes

Leave a Reply

