Not Forgetful Me!


Dear Reader,

Earlier this week I wrote about forgetting about a meeting that I’d scheduled. I felt very bad about it. Well, yesterday and today I had a S.T.E.P. meeting that I did not forget. The one yesterday was cancelled by the parent at the VERY last minute. The one today wasn’t cancelled, but due to a series of miscommunications, I did not attend.

This is how my day began. I had to be in Pasadena, CA (about an hour away) today to re-take the CSET. When I passed it five years ago, I was unaware that the scores expired. So, after four hours (instead of the full five this time) of re-taking all sub-tests, I hightailed it to work. When I get there, there’s no one around. I go to the Main Office and there’s someone in the Principal’s office. I knock on the door and the security guard informs me that everyone has left.

I then call the Pre-K teacher who tells me that the staff meeting and my meeting are cancelled.

“Whew!!!,” I said, as I breathed a sigh of relief.

I really didn’t want to mediate the meeting, but was, of course, going to do it anyway. With that out of the way, I start on my way home. On the way, my youngest son call me to pick him up from school because he left his bus pass at home. When I am almost home, I get a text from the 6th grade teacher asking if I was still coming to the meeting.

I was so confused at this point. To shorten this story, I texted back and forth and was going to go back. While I’m doing this the Secretary calls, then I speak to the Principal. He tells me that I don’t have to come back. Although I should have breathed a sigh of relief that I did not have to drive an hour back to work on a Friday, I didn’t. I felt like such a slacker. I felt like crying, so I did.

I’m so upset. I did what I was supposed to do but still ended up looking like a slacker. I guess there’s really nothing I can do about it at this point and time. It’s been a long week.

I came in the house, had another small cry and took a nap. I’m feeling better, but still a little upset that I came out looking like a slacker. I’ll get over it though. In the grand scheme of things, it’s not a big deal. Thank God it’s the weekend and I can relax!

I will write more over the weekend. Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

