I AM Smarter Than a 5th Grader!


Yes, Dear Readers,

I am smarter than a 5th grader. How do I know? Well, I will tell you. Two of my students, one a 5th grader (who I’ll call Jayla), the other a 4th grader (who I’ll call Velma), are struggling with the times tables. So, I’ve been drilling and skilling them, playing multiplication bingo, and concentration bingo with multiplication flash cards.

These were the rules:

  1. If they picked up the right match and didn’t know the answer, they couldn’t keep the cards.
  2. I was not going to take it easy on them.

We spread out the cards and started playing with me going first. They thought I was joking around and that I wasn’t going to beat them. The way the game started off, it seemed like I was joking. I wasn’t. I just couldn’t find a match. However, once I got on a roll, I was unstoppable.

My 5th grader picked up a match and hesitated. she looked to me for approval. I told her that I was not going to tell her if she was or not. She recognized that she had the right answer and flashed the biggest smile.

Jayla managed to get 3 matches before I got one; while Velma got 1 match. Like I said, once I got on a roll I was unstoppable. It came down to the wire. There were only four cards left and it was Jayla’s turn. She chose the wrong one. I swooped in and got the last two matches. I ended up with 9 matches, Jayla had 6, and Velma had 4.

We finished just in time. Once I picked up the last two matches, I laughed an evil villain laugh, dropped the cards, and told them to learn the times tables or I would clean their clock again next week when I picked them up.

They said ok and laughed. They told me they couldn’t believe I beat them. I repeated that I’d do it again. See, I am smarter than a 5th grader!

Leave a Reply

