We Are Family????


My philosophy: Each classroom should be a small family unit. One thing I’m famous for is making my students a family. In my first classroom, I took a ragtag bunch of misfits and made them into a family unit. It wasn’t the easiest thing to do; especially since the students fought amongst themselves.

This has always worked for me- until this year. One of my students, who I totally did not expect it from, has become a talk-a-holic bully. I asked her why. Her reasoning: Well, the class is much smaller this year and I have more friends, they’re like my family, and I want to spend more time with them.

“Is that why you talk so much and don’t do your work?” I asked her.

“Yeah, I guess,” she said.

This leads me to the whole point of writing this. I’m thinking that I won’t do the same with my next class. It seems that making my students into a family is biting me in the a%$! My students love each other so much that they constantly talk. ALL damn day. I’ve had to revoke privileges because of the excessive talking. I’ve had this problem for the last two years.

I know that the students benefit from it, but it’s wearing me out. I want some peace at work. I don’t wanna’ have to continually say, “Cut the chit chat!,” but that’s all I say all day!

I’m tired of it!

I need to figure out what to do. Until next time, Dear Readers, I’ll let you know what I decide to do. Bye for now.

3 thoughts on “We Are Family????

  1. Erin Low says:

    Have you figured anything out yet? I, too love the family enviroment but I’m also having some trouble with it.

    I have two students in my class that act like brother and sister or an old married couple. They bicker then they are BFFs and then they’re bickering again. It made me crazy last year. I’ve got to figure something out by next year.

  2. Erin, I am still undecided on this. I see the merits of making them a family. However, I also see the downside. I’ll address that with the post I’m writing right now about this. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

