A Center in a Bag!


Dear Readers,

I have a story I just have to tell. It’s about my older sister (even though she tells everyone I’m older), who I’ll call Brown Girl. She is so giving. She is always giving me & the rest of our family gifts.

Even though this gift she gave me today is not even the biggest gift she’s given me, it was really what I needed. You see she gave me 25 books with the accompanying audio tapes. This is significant because I was just reading another teaching blog about the teacher having a listening center. Since I had older students I didn’t think to have a listening center. Add to the fact that my school had no resources. Well, now, thanks to my sister, I have the following titles:

  1. This Is The Way We Go to School by Edith Baer
  2. Abiyoyo by Pete Seeger
  3. The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats
  4. Happy Birthday, Moon by Frank Asch
  5. Geraldine’s Big Snow by Holly Keller
  6. The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses by Paul Goble
  7. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by (Adapted by) Freya Littledale
  8. The Vanishing Pumpkin by Tony Johnston
  9. My Favorite Time of Year by Susan Pearson
  10. Clifford’s Halloween Fun by Norman Bridwell
  11. Jamberry by Bruce Degen
  12. Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey
  13. Millions of Cats by Wanda Gag
  14. Happy Birthday, Moon by Frank Asch (duplicate)
  15. The Brave Little Tailor by (Retold by) Freya Littledale
  16. Sally’s Room by M.K. Brown
  17. Jamie O’Rourke and the Big Potato
  18. The Seven Chinese Brothers by Margaret Mahy
  19. Jesse Bear, What Will You Wear? by Nancy While Carlstrom
  20. Grandma and the Pirates by Phoebe Gilman
  21. Clifford, We Love You by Norman Bridwell
  22. It’s Valentine’s Day by Jack Prelutsky
  23. Chicken Soup With Rice by Maurice Sendak
  24. Curious George Rides a Bike by H.A. Rey
  25. The Popcorn Dragon by Jane Thayer

Even though some of these title are for young children, I will use these to make up my listening center. I’m going to plop them into some bags, label them, and create some other sort of activities to go with them. So there you have it- A center in a bag!

By the way, if you know of any activities I can use to make this center more interesting, feel free to drop me a comment!

Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

