Don’t Touch Me!


Dear Readers,

I have a story to tell you. Like to hear about it, here it goes.

When I first assumed control of my new classroom a couple of weeks ago, I asked my students to let me know if they did not want me to touch them. I told them this because I know there are some who have traumatic pasts and aren’t so trusting or don’t want anyone touching them. Well, one of my students was pretty vocal about it. He said, “I don’t want you touching me. I don’t know you, so keep your hands off of me”.

So, I told him I would respect his boundaries.

That’s not where the story ends, of course. As I do with all of my students, I called each of them to my desk and inquired about their goals, likes, dislikes, etc… I then asked about his behaviour. He told me that his last teacher, at his old school, was scared of him because he would threaten her and be mean to her. I told him to look at me because, unlike his last teacher, I wasn’t scared of him and that I wouldn’t give up on him. I also told him that I could tell that he wasn’t the person he was pretending to be and that I knew he was a good little boy.

“You’ll be hugging me in less than a month,” I told him.

Well, guess what? My prediction turned out to be true. Here’s what happened. He was misbehaving on Tuesday, so I gave him “the look”. He came over to my desk, hugged me, and told me that he was sorry. I was blown away.

I predicted he’d hug me in a month not two weeks. How’s that for progress?

Leave a Reply

