He Walked Away… (Not Today!)


Dear Readers,

I have a lot to learn about boys and their precious egos. What I thought was a good thing actually turned out to be a bad thing. It started Friday afternoon. One of my students (I’ll call him Conner) has been talking about wanting to leave the school and return to public school. I told him some of the things he needs to do in order for that to happen. One of them being the lessening of fighting. He said that he was going to do his best. Well, fast forward to the end of the day when they usually fight and he proved himself. One of my students were trying to egg him on. This is what he said, “You know what, I’m not even going to fight you!” He then walked away! One would think it was over, but no!

The problem- I informed Conner’s counselor that he walked away from a fight. While you, and others reading this, may think this was a compliment, it wasn’t in the eyes of my students. He was picked on today and as a result he ended up fighting after lunch. He sucker punched one of my other students smack in the face. He didn’t walk away today.

I am actually afraid of what could happen tomorrow. I’m going to ask the head of security to do a random backpack and pocket search just in case one of them brings a knife. While I really hope this doesn’t happen, the reality is that it could happen!

Pray for me as I navigate the turmoil, trials, & tribulations of an NPS!

Leave a Reply

