Interviewing is Not For the Faint of Heart!, Part 1


Dear Readers,
Here is a little bit more about what I’ve been through while interviewing these past couple of weeks.

Green Dot Process

The first step: Phone interview
The third step: Panel interview and lesson plan critique
The fourth step: Demo lesson plan

I struggled greatly with the demo lesson plan because I’m not all that familiar with the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and didn’t feel as if I had a firm grasp of the given standard.
I’m not sure if this is a new trend in interviewing, but all of my interviews have been panel interviews. The one that I had with Green Dot actually had six candidates with a moderator sitting in the center of the room with about 10-12 administrators (I lost count) around the periphery listening to our responses to the questions being asked.

  • After that was over, the candidates were allowed 30 minutes to answer questions from a writing prompt.
  • After that, the lesson plan sent in earlier was critiqued in preparation for the demo lesson.
  • Then, candidates met with the school(s) that were interested. From there, an appointment was set for the demo lesson.

I was at the Green Dot office from 10:00-1:40. Whew! In the next post, I will write about the demo which didn’t go as well as I planned. So, bye for now!

2 thoughts on “Interviewing is Not For the Faint of Heart!, Part 1

Leave a Reply

