The I Am Poem


Dear Readers,

The “I Am” poem is some of my go-to work for the first weeks of school that works from Elementary to High School. I completed it today with my class. I was pleasantly surprised that they did so well. I will post one of their examples later today or tomorrow. For now, here’s the template. Enjoy!

Just in case you don’t know what the “I Am” poem is, here it is:

EXAMPLE

FIRST STANZA

I am (2 special characteristics you have)

I wonder (something of curiosity)
I hear (an imaginary sound)
I see (an imaginary sight)
I want (an actual desire)
I am (the first line of the poem repeated)

I am polite and kind
I wonder about my kids’ future I hear a unicorn’s cry
I see Atlantis
I want to do it all over again
I am polite and kind

SECOND STANZA
I pretend (something you actually pretend to do)

I feel (a feeling about something imaginary)
I touch (an imaginary touch)
I worry (something that bothers you)
I cry (something that makes you sad)
I am (the first line of the poem repeated)

THIRD STANZA
I understand (something that is true)
I say (something you believe in)
I dream (something you dream about)
I try (something you really make an effort about)

I hope (something you actually hope for)
I am (the first line of the poem repeated)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

