Activities Completed This Week with My Students


Dear Readers,

I just woke up from a fantastic nap. OMG, it was sooooo good! I’ve been on the go since July 28th. Here’s what happened. It’s been a whirlwind. I interviewed on Thursday, July 24th and was offered the job the same day. I accepted the next day on the 25th and had to report for a week-long Orientation starting Monday the 28th. I had the weekend to come up with some activities; then, school started on Monday, August 4th. I’ve been going to bed late ’cause I just haven’t shaken the bad summer sleeping habits. So, there you have it. My reasons for my 1 1/2 hour nap. Now that I feel refreshed, here’s a snapshot of what I did yesterday with my class.

I completed the following exercises with my students:

  • Three reasons for failure (No plan, taking too long to follow through on the plan, not following through on the plan)
  • What Super Hero Are You? which is tied into the Multiple Intelligences & the student’s disability
  • I Am poem
  • Autobiographical Poem (kinda’ like the I Am poem)
  • Study Skills Assessment
  • Multiple Intelligence Inventory
  • 21 Questions All About Me
  • Growth Mindset vs. Fixed Mindset quiz & simple questionnaire I made

 

I really liked the 3 reasons for failure activity/team building exercise. I didn’t make this one up. This is what I did. I started with an odd number of students to begin with because the objective of the activity is to leave one person out in the cold because they don’t have a plan, they take too long to follow through on the plan, or the don’t follow through on the plan. So, I started with 5 students and gave them 12 seconds (too long) to find a partner. Of course one person didn’t have a partner. I then asked the person without the partner why they didn’t have a partner- he didn’t have a plan. While the five students were doing the activity, I had the other students writing down the reasons why the students didn’t succeed. I had them push the tables back so there was room in the middle of the room and little by little I called all 28 students up and had them do various groupings. There was always one person without a partner and it was always one of the three reasons listed above. After we did it for about 10 minutes, I sent them to their seats to complete the rest of the questionnaire I made for them. Here’s a copy:

Name:_____________________ Date:__________________ Period:_______

There are 3 reasons for failure:

  • No Plan
  • Taking too long to act/follow through on the plan
  • Not following through on the plan

1. Observe the following groups and determine the reason for failure.

2. What would you have done differently?

3. How can knowing this information help you in school?

4. What was your main reason for failure in the past?

5. Write down four goals you have for this school year (at home and in school).

This was among my Top 2 favorite things I completed this week. The other one was the Multiple Intelligence Survey. I’ll write about that in another post.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Activities Completed This Week with My Students

  1. I just wanted to say how much I like the idea of doing these activities with your students!!! I feel like it’s a great task for students, whether they have special needs or not! It seems to me that the activities allow the students to find common ground with one another in addition to appreciating the unique qualities each student has. Are there any ways that you might suggest tweaking them for a particular sector of the special education population? Even if there aren’t, I commend you for being clearly dedicated to helping your students create their own classroom community of learners!

  2. Wendy, what are the ages of your students. Give me time over the weekend and we can work on it together. I remember seeing a simplified multiple intelligence survey somewhere. Let me see if I can find it. The 3 Reasons for Plan Failure could be completed with students as young as 8 or 9, maybe 7.

  3. As of right now, my students are kindergarteners. I’m still in school so my questions are more from the idea gathering stage in order to prep for student teaching in the spring. Half of the semester will be in a special ed classroom and I figure the more I have in my teacher “toolbox,” the better! Right now, I’m taking a course on Autism Spectrum Disorder and Emotional/Behavioral Disorders, so that’s why my questions to you were mostly geared towards that specific part of the special education population.

  4. I think the time sheets can be restructured for Kinder students. My friend teaches TK/Kinder SDC. I’ll see if she can help me with it. We can remove the checks and have them add instead of multiply. We can keep it very simple. You can also help with it. Let me know what you think once you get it. Also, let me know if you need anything else. I’m not that far removed from school myself. It would have been nice to have someone to bounce ideas off of when I was just starting.

Leave a Reply

