Centers vs. Stations


Dear Readers,

It really seems as if this job is tailor-made for me. Why do I say that? I say that because at my current job, the students are required to use stations. Why is this perfect? Well, at my other school, I used stations. I just called them centers. I thought there wasn’t a difference, but have since learned that there is.

So, my principal came into the class four times this week. Yes, four times. I’ve already had 5 observations this year and it’s only the third week of school. If this school does nothing else, it will keep me on my toes. We are required to upload a digital agenda to the school’s website, submit a unit plan, use stations for Direct Instruction, Collaborative/Flex-time (Work from other classes), & Independent work (on the laptop and/or iPad). I have actually really been “on it.” In my room I have a Smart Board that I am learning how to use. I know how to use simple parts of it, but the more complicated tasks like writing on the screen with the markers and moving screens like a touch device, I can’t do yet. The way I use it now is to plug my laptop into it to show my power points. I’ll write more about the power points later.

BTW, I found a great article on Stations vs. Centers: Dare to Differentiate: http://2differentiate.pbworks.com/w/page/860074/Learning%20Stations

Leave a Reply

