The Little Engine That Could!


Dear Readers,

little-engine 2I am pleasantly surprised with my students! I’m seeing leaders emerge with strengths they, or I, in some cases, didn’t even know they had. What am I talking about? I’m talking about my students coming alive and developing their life skills.

One of the activities I introduced to them when we came back from break was jigsawing. In one of my last post I stated how I put the onus on my students for asking for extra time and getting their missed work from when they were absent. I know they are only in the 9th & 10th grade but within the next 3-4 years they will be young adults in charge of their own lives. So, they need to have certain skills. Two skills they really need and that are very important to have are self-advocacy & self-reliance. They are beginning to do well with self-advocacy skills, so now I’m training them in self-reliance. Many times during the last semester, the work would be right in front of them but they would not take to time to try to uncover it. I thought and thought about how to help the overcome their learned helplessness but it was tough. Let me tell you that learned helplessness runs deep. They were so used to believing they couldn’t do it that they stopped trying.

Well, by lecturing them, supporting them, and helping them realize that they can do it, they have begun to advocate for themselves and to rely on themselves. It’s one of the best feeling in the world to see that light bulb go on and have someone realize they can do it. I always think of The Little Engine That Could when this happens. I should read it to them. They’re so young they probably haven’t heard of it. I’ll see. Back to the lecture at hand. I’m happy to see them blossoming. I’ll keep you updated.

10 thoughts on “The Little Engine That Could!

  1. You are the kind of teacher EVERY parent dreams of. You actually CARE. It’s so clear that this is your passion and even without me not knowing you all these years, your dedication to teaching and shaping young people into responsible adults able to compete in the world is AMAZING. I’m standing on a chair applauding you (well, I’m imagining it since I’m at work…lol). But you deserve the PRAISE for caring about our greatest resource. So if you haven’t hear this lately, I APPRECIATE all that you do 🙂

  2. myki says:

    Your blog is very inspirational! Self-advocacy is so important and the guidance you are giving the students to see that they can succeed will stay with them throughout their entire lives. The positive impact you are making on these students lives is a blessing.

  3. Pingback: » Blogging mb
  4. Pingback: sa » Blogging

Leave a Reply

