Back in the Day!


Dear Readers,

I’ve been in serious reflection mode. One of the things I’ve been reflecting on is why I simply refuse to stay happy. Whenever I’m happy for too long, I’ll invariably do something to sabotage myself. Something just came to mind. It happened when I was about 6 or 7. I was on the monkey bars and I was on a roll. I made it almost all the way across. I was beaming from ear to ear. I only had one more bar to go when I fell. I didn’t just do an ordinary, everyday fall. I fell and bruised my ribs. I was so embarrassed. It was in front of most of my classmates. I cried so hard. My mother came to pick me up that day from school because of my injuries.

What happened afterward isn’t the important part. The important part is that I’ve finally gotten to the root of why I don’t like to get too happy. Isn’t it funny how something so seemingly innocuous that happened in our childhood marks us for life?

Well, that’s my reflection for the year! I’m happy that I was just thinking back to the time when I was a kid; the time that marked me for about 40 years. Now I know!

Leave a Reply

