Unlocking a Google Sheet


Dear Readers,

I came up with an ingenious way to either stop students from completing the exit slip (that’s obviously created in Google sheets) or to have them ask for permission to unlock them so they I will know (if I haven’t gotten around to grading them) who hasn’t completed them. Once I know, I can unlock it and the student could then complete the exit slip with lesser credit for the assignment.

Protected Google sheet

“So, what problem did I encounter?,” you ask.

Well, the problem was I didn’t know how to unlock it. One of my students wanted to complete a locked exit slip and I didn’t know how to do it. I even Googled it, to no avail. So, I just started playing with Google sheets until I figured it out. Here’s how I did it:

First, I clicked on locked sheet

Then I clicked on Can edit

The trash can icon appeared in the upper right hand corner so I decided to click on it just to see what would happen.

After I clicked the trash can icon, I pressed Remove & the sheet unlocked.

It was so simple. I hope this helps someone!

Leave a Reply

