Put On Your Oxygen Mask First!, Part 2


Dear Readers,

If you’ve ever ridden on a plane before then you know the spiel the stewardesses give you about putting on your oxygen mask first in case of emergency. They tell you that you have to help yourself first. You can’t help anyone if you’re not in good shape and can’t breathe.

Oxygen Mask

I said (wrote) the above to say that at my organization’s regional PD, teachers with perfect attendance were recognized. That’s when I thought to myself that I’ll probably never get a perfect attendance award. For one thing, I believe in using my sick days, or as I like to call them- my mental health days.

If you work in a particularly stressful job (like teaching) as I do, I am totally in support of taking mental health days for… umm, well, your mental health. You have to take care of yourself. If you’re struggling, upset, or burnt out, you are no good to your students. A happy, healthy, and together teacher is of so much more value than a grouchy one. So, remember to put on your oxygen mask first!

Bye for now!

One thought on “Put On Your Oxygen Mask First!, Part 2

  1. jannikej says:

    I totally agree. If people can do the job without using their sick/personal leave, more power to them, but that is not the norm and I don’t encourage it. Teaching is stressful, especially special education. I am grateful to unions everywhere for negotiating sick and annual leave for employees, as well as weekends, so that we can take much needed breaks from our jobs.

Leave a Reply

