Should I or Shouldn’t I?


Dear Readers,

Substance abuse

I really don’t know what to do in regard to one of my students. He’s a great kid- when he’s not high! When he’s high, he’s very obnoxious and constantly disrupts the class. I’m not sure what to do because all the love in the world cannot correct a substance abuse problem without other interventions. I also know that an addict has to want help and has to ask for help. I can’t tell him that he needs rehab or that he has to stop doing drugs.

I wrote all that to say that I’m not sure how much energy I have or want to put into him because I have 43 students. I’m not sure if I should wait for him to ask for it or if I should try to help him in his journey to get clean, if that’s what he wants.

I’m really mulling it over at this point. I’m not sure if I have the time. I’ll let you know what I decide. Bye for now!

2 thoughts on “Should I or Shouldn’t I?

  1. You have 43 students on your caseload??? Holy moly if that’s the case. As for the student, does your school not have an interventionist? We have several avenues in my middle school: drug and alcohol interventionist, drop out prevention program, mental health counselors, teen health program, regular counselor, school psychologist, and admin. Do you have counselors or social workers in your school? Whatever you have, refer the student to them. You can also call parents and explain what you see at school. If I were the parent, I would want to know. Good luck!

  2. Jannike, sadly the parent knows. He’s probably gotten some of his stash from the dad. He’s not in much better shape. We do not have any of the above, except school psych. and admin. I’m going to talk to them on Monday. Hopefully we can put our heads together and come up with something. Thank you for the good wishes.

Leave a Reply

