Your Stupid Dreams! (or I Didn’t Say That!)


Dear Readers,

I had to have a talk with one of my students today. She has ADHD, so I don’t have to tell you that she has trouble focusing and she struggles with producing work. She is really frustrating me, but I feel that she was put in my life for a reason, so I can’t put her in the other Resource class just to get rid of her. Did I mention that she is frustrating me?

Never-Give-Up on Your Stupid Dreams

Well, today, I had to have a talk with her about her behavior, her not wanting to do any work, and her general lackadaisical attitude. I talked to her about having creative outlets that she likes, such as drawing, writing in her journal, and dancing. It was at this point that I said, “If you don’t have creative outlets, then you’ll have bad or stupid outlets, like fighting, abusing drugs or your body, etc.

Well, she took “stupid” and ran with it. She accused me of calling her dreams stupid. I looked at her to make sure she was just kidding. Nope, she was as serious as a heart attack. I looked her right in the eye and told her that I did NOT say; that I would never call her or anyone else’s dream(s) stupid. I further explained that if anyone came to her and said that I called their dreams stupid, that that would be a lie because I have not, nor will I ever call anyone’s dream(s) stupid.

Let me just say for the record that I am an encourager; always have been.

It took a bit of convincing, but I convinced her that I didn’t call her dreams stupid. So, now I’m on a quest to let her know that she has skills and doesn’t have to resort to “stupid outlets”. I had to keep telling her all day that she has skills. At one point she started dancing. I had to tell her that that was a skill; that her ability to sketch is a skill, and that her love of animation could definitely lead to developing useful skills that could lead to employment.

We had her 30 Day IEP today that she led. It’s hard to believe that she’s only been with me for a month. She’s really made an impression.

I’ll let you know how things turn out!

 

Leave a Reply

