A Day in the Life of a Resource Lab/Learning Center!


Dear Readers,

Someone emailed me and thought it would be a good idea if I shared how a day in my life at the Resource Lab  looked. I teach 1st, 5th, & 6th period. I push into the 10th grade English class the first half of 4th period, so my prep periods are the last half of 4th period, 2nd period, & 3rd period.

This is how my day goes:

7:30-7:48: I arrive at work and look for a parking spot close to the front of the parking lot so I won’t get blocked in. I do a little housekeeping (copying, tidying the classroom, etc.), I may warm up my oatmeal and wolf it down.

7:48-8:00: The bell rings at 7:50, so I stand at  at my classroom door and greet the students.

8:00-8:47: Advisory. We complete college activities, homework, grade checks, etc.

8:50-10:50: Since my school operates on reverse schedule, my schedule depends on the day of the week. This is what we do: We review the agenda, objectives, I show the students a video on the disability of the week, & read the day’s inspirational quote to them. During the last few weeks of the school year, the students have a lot of work to make up, so that what we’ve been working on lately. I split them into groups/stations. They either work in Independent station, Collaborative station, or directly with me in Direct Station.

10:50-11:05: Nutrition. During this time, I’m usually printing papers for students, counseling a student, and/or trying to actually get something to eat.

11:10-1:10: Depending on the day of the week, this is my prep period. If it’s Monday, Wednesday, or Thursday, this is my prep period. If it’s my prep period, I work on an upcoming IEP, make copies, or usually give it up to work with students who need extra help.

1:15- 3:45: I rinse & repeat at the end of the day.

So, there’s my schedule. How does your Resource Lab/Learning Center look?

 

 

Leave a Reply

