Image

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs & Special Needs


Dear Readers,

maslow-needs

For next week’s lesson, I will be teaching my students about Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs & how it relates to them and their special education needs. I’m reading this great article entitled, “Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs in an Inclusion Classroom” by Kaitlin Lutz. Here’s the link (Click here). It’s a great read and it’s written at a level that’s accessible to all of my students.

Since I have a document cam, I’m going to model annotating with them. In my school, some of the English teachers use the left side of the paper for analysis & the right sides for summary. Using my document camera, I will model how I want them to annotate the text. Of the two page article, I will annotate one page with them, while they complete page two independently & collaboratively.

Originally I had a problem with this lesson because I thought it resembled an English lesson too much. However, I spoke to my English coach and she said that it was ok since I was introducing literature into my classroom and using the English framework. Whew! That took a lot off my mind.

I hope they like it. As usual, I’ll keep you updated on their progress. Bye for now!!!

Leave a Reply

