Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs & Special Needs, Part 3


Dear Readers,

maslow-needs

This is an update on the lesson I taught this week regarding Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs.  I have such a great idea now that I’ve already introduced it to them. This is what I plan to do: Once they come into the classroom, I’m going to have a couple of items on the table for them to choose from. They’ll have the choice of picking food & water, shelter, goals, etc. So, they’ll have a choice of picking anything from Physiological Needs to Self-Actualization with the end goal to write a fictional narrative. Here’s the catch: In order for them to choose Self-Actualization, they have to research & write about all the stages and steps they took to get there with evidence cited from the text. Before they do this, I have a separate differentiated writing assignment.

  • The sole 9th grader will complete a Say, Mean, Matter chart with three self-selected quotes.
  • The five 10th graders will complete three-four Claim, Evidence, Link (C.E.L.) paragraphs in response to a writing prompt while citing evidence from the text.
  • The three 12th graders will write a rhetorical précis using the article.

After they complete the above writing projects, they’ll write a fictional 1st person narrative. This lesson just lends itself to writing a fictional narrative. I’m really excited about this. I think I’ll include this in my curriculum. I’m happy that this fits into the curriculum. I’m doubly happy because it all started as an after thought. I knew that I wasn’t ready to begin my Project Based Learning (PBL) unit and I wanted to teach them about Maslow’s Hierarchy. Everything just fell into place. I’m going to take this week and the next week to work on this. As always, I’ll keep you updated!

Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

