Project Based Learning (PBL)


Dear Readers,

I have a confession to make. I thought I was using Project Based Learning (PBL), but I was not. I was only having them complete projects. In order for the students to be doing a Project Based Learning assignment, the project has to have a literature component, then the project must be made public. There were other components I was missing, but this was the key component I was missing. Now that I know how to do Project Based Learning, I’m actually going to do it.

I’ll write another post later on describing my upcoming project. I’ll keep you updated.

2 thoughts on “Project Based Learning (PBL)

  1. Hi, I’d love to stay posted on your progress – and maybe you could write a guest blog post for us (Buck Institute for Education)? I’m curious if you used our materials/resources to learn about PBL – where did you hear it has to have a literacy component? A project at the K-5 level typically does, but it’s not a definitional “must” the way a public products is, in our model:
    http://www.bie.org/blog/gold_standard_pbl_essential_project_design_elements

  2. John, I would love to write a guest blog post for you. I did learn about PBL from someone who attended one of your trainings in Napa, I believe. Now that you mention it, I’m not sure if the attendees stated that there must be a literary component. That is the focus of our organization. I admit that I may have confused the two. Let me speak to my E/LA coach tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

