The Gradual Release of Responsibility!


Dear Readers,

According to Dr. Douglas Fisher, Professor of Language & Literacy Instruction at San Diego State University, The gradual release of responsibility model of instruction requires that the teacher shift from assuming “all the responsibility for performing a task … to a situation in which the students assume all of the responsibility” (Duke & Pearson, 2002, p. 211). This gradual release may occur over a day, a week, a month, or a year. Stated another way, the gradual release of responsibility “… emphasizes instruction that mentors students into becoming capable thinkers and learners when handling the tasks with which they have not yet developed expertise” (Buehl, 2005).

gradual-release

I’m more than happy that I happened upon this particular article because I’ve been struggling with the same concept with my students. I discussed in another blog post how I coddled them. I didn’t mean to. I just didn’t want them to be left out in the cold. So, that is my dilemma.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Here’s his article, entitled, Effective Use of the Gradual Release of Responsibility Model, if you’d like to read it.

https://www.mheonline.com/_treasures/pdf/douglas_fisher.pdf

One thought on “The Gradual Release of Responsibility!

Leave a Reply

