Accountability w/Padlet!!!


Dear Readers,

I’m in good mood because I found a solution to my accountability problem with my students and not completing their journals. My school has Silent First 5ive! This is a strategy my school decided to implement this school year. The students are expected to come in and immediately begin working SILENTLY the first 5 minutes of class. During the Silent First 5ive, the students are expected to complete their quick write- a quick journal question- in their composition books. Well, as it turns out, some of them were not completing the quick writes in their journals. I thought about possible solutions and came up with a simple solution of having the students complete a padlet. Well, it is working out like a charm. This is how it works: I create the padlet, cut & paste the padlet address, put the padlet address on my digital agenda & have the students follow the directions on the digital agenda to answer the quick write on the padlet. I can see right away who has or has not completed their quick write. I even asked the students if they liked this instead of their journal. They said yes. This is making grading a lot easier.

Problem solved! I’ll write another post about my digital agenda.

Just in case you don’t know what a padlet is, this is a definition I found online:

padlet

Padlet is a virtual wall that allows people to express their thoughts on a common topic easily. It works like an online sheet of paper where people can put any content (e.g. images, videos, documents, text) anywhere on the page, together with anyone, from any device.

Also, here’s a link to a site I found that perfectly describes a padlet and how to use it. http://www.coolcatteacher.com/how-to-use-padlet-fantastic-tool-teaching/

Let me know if you use Padlet & how it works for you! Bye for now!

 

Leave a Reply

