Posted in teaching

My Way of Teaching Multiplication!


Dear Readers,

I’ve come up with a unique way of teaching multiplication. Maybe others have used this or a similar method, but I can only speak for myself. I just got up one day and decided to teach it like this. Like to see, here it goes:

So, I take twelve 100 charts; I use one hundreds chart per number. I then go through the Zero times tables. I made a seemingly crazy claim (think Forget Paris, with Debra Winger & Billy Crystal)! I say, “By the time we finish this first lesson, you will know what 0 x 1,000,000 is! “Do you believe me?” I say. Usually they say NO! I then proceed to prove them wrong. So, I tell them how 0 times anything is 0! We go through a couple of examples and they get it. We go through the same thing with the 1s. Now, they have this win and are building up their confidence.

Then I start with the 2s times table. I have them count two, then color; count two, then color, all the way to 100. Once they’re finished with that, I begin teaching them how to multiply. I ask them to count over count, then ask how many times they’ve counted to 2. Answer= I’ve counted to 2 one time. So, that makes 2 x(time/one time) 1= 2. I tell them, then show them. I do a couple more with them and they get it. If we don’t finish during our lesson, this is now their homework. And I repeat up until the 12s or wherever we decide to finish.

To teach up to the 12s, this usually takes up to 6 weeks. In between the learning, I have them complete multiplication drills. The lessons can take anywhere between 30-1.5 hours; it all depends on the child.

This method has never failed for me. I hope this helps. Let me know if this works for you!

Bye for now!

Author:

I am a 53 year old empty nester, mother of four adult children, ages 22-34, and grandmother to two (River & Dakota) who's currently... figuring me out!

Leave a comment