Posted in book reviews, teaching

Just Like Sisters by Angela McAllister


Just Like Sisters (2005), written by Angela McAllister andjust like sistersillustrated by Sophie Fatus, is a nice little read aloud. I first came across this book when I had to review a series of books for my Children’s Literature class. For the assignment, I had to review 25 books, write a review on them, and make a page on them. My professor loved it so much, she gave me a 350/300. She said that it was the best picture book she’d ever seen. For this one, I photocopied the cover in color, cut it out, and embellished it. I cut little pieces of yellow yarn for the little girl’s hair, made a bow for the alligator’s hair, and cut teeth for her. It was too cute.

When I reviewed this book two years ago, I did not purchase it. Now, I’m happy to say that this book is part of my collection. I recently purchased this book from Food 4 Less for $5. Boy was I happy when I saw the price.

I chose this book because I liked the outside. It was so interesting it made me want to read the inside. From the cover I kinda’ guessed what the inside was about. I was right. This is a story about friendship, being different, and acceptance. I would recommend this book for anyone 4-40. So, on to the review.

This way a cute, little story with charming illustrations about a little girl, Nancy, & her friend, Ally, an alligator. Nancy & Ally are penpals. They have been writing to each other for a long time. They know each other so well.They read and re-read each other’s letters so much. Finally, Ally writes to Nancy to tell her that her plane arrives on Saturday morning. Nancy couldn’t be more excited.

Just like clockwork, Ally’s plane is right on time. They hug. Ally tells Nancy she’s exactly as she imagined.

“So are you,” said Nancy.

The got out and paint the town red. They have a fantastic time. They get to Nancy’s home and go right to Nancy’s room where they continue talking and sharing photos. Later, they try on her mom’s lipstick, watch videos, and finish two cartons of ice cream.

The next day they go shopping and buy exactly the same thing. They wonder if people will mistake them for twins. Finally, it’s time to go home. What do you think happens when it’s time for Ally to leave?

Well, I guess you’re going to have to read it and find out for yourself. It’s a cute little story. Check it out!

Author:

I am a 53 year old empty nester, mother of four adult children, ages 22-34, and grandmother to two (River & Dakota) who's currently... figuring me out!

One thought on “Just Like Sisters by Angela McAllister

Leave a comment