Posted in Anecdotes, life, teaching

You Can NOT Come Into My Class!


I found out from someone @ U.T.L.A. that I could refuse to admit problem students to my class. In essence, I can suspend them from class. I really hate to resort to this measure because I want to help them, but nothing seems to be working with one student in particular. I have tried everything, but he refuses to do any work and is very disruptive. No matter what I do, it just doesn’t seem to be enough. This is what I have tried: Making a deal with him to give him extra stickers (so they can reach a reward) for every 15 minutes of good behavior; Giving sincere compliments; Being firm; Calling his guardian; Sending him to the office (last resort when I can’t reach his guardian).

On the day after he went home @ 8:35, he came back the next day and told me that he wanted to do it again because he had so much fun because he got to play all day long.

I am at my wits end because I can’t get too much teaching done because I have to stop and calm him down. Tomorrow I am going to talk to the school psychologist about him because I am out of ideas.

I know that this is where God wants me to be and that I was meant to help him but I just don’t know about this kid!